Things to Do and See (Town)
Visitor Information Centre
Battery Hill Mining Centre Complex 08 8962 1281
Battery Hill - Peko Road
In Tennant Creek the first stop is the Tennant Creek Visitor Information Centre at Battery Hill, situated 1.5kms east from the town centre along Peko Road.
Read more…….Territorian staff welcomes your interest and provides all details about tours and attractions of the region. We boast the centre will delight and surprise, there are brochures, films, rustic displays, and so much more. The parking is caravan friendly and facilities include public toilets and a covered area with picnic seating. The centre is connected to Tennant Creek by a sealed road, as well as a concrete cycling or walking path.
Battery Hill Mining Centre
Battery Hill - Peko Road 08 8962 1281
Battery Hill echoes the soul and spirit of the early miners and is named after the original ten-head stamp battery.
Read More….The Gold Stamp Battery is for the present a static display that can be viewed by a self guided walk. The Underground Mine has working machinery, authentic sounds and displays. The site abounds with historic buildings and machinery as well as the Social History museum aptly named Freedom, Fortitude & Flies. Reward yourself with a visit to the extensive Minerals Museum; the McLaughlin Collection forms the nucleus of this museum, which houses not only local minerals and ores, but some of the finest mineral specimens from Australia and around the world.
Nyinkka Nyunyu Art & Culture Centre
Paterson Street (Southern end) 08 8962 2221
Nyinkka Nyunyu (pronounced ny-ink-a ny-oo-ny-oo) is a unique art and culture centre where you will meet local Warumungu people & discover their connections to this land.
Self Guided Bush Tucker Audio Tour
Be sure not to miss the self guided (Or personally guided by Aboriginal Cultural Officer) audio tour at Nyinkka Nyunyu www.ausaboriginalart.com.au
Read more…..The gallery/museum presents fascinating insights into contemporary aboriginal life, art, cultural activities and history. Browse through the Retail shop featuring local art and craft works, gifts etc. Explore the landscaped garden of indigenous plants and bush tucker with the aid of audio headphones. Guided tours with local Aboriginal people during the season. Nyinkka Nyunyu is an enterprise development of Julalikari Council Aboriginal Corporation.
Julalikari Arts - Pink Palace
Paterson Street (Northern end-front of Mulga Camp) 08 8962 2163
See the ladies paint! The centre welcomes visitors & provides an opportunity to engage with authentic Aboriginal artists at work.
Read more…..Affectionately known as Pink Palace, this centre is a special place where local Aboriginal women such as Peggy Jones, Lindy Brodie & many other ladies gather to create their beautiful artwork, both traditional & contemporary. All artwork is for sale. Open Mon-Fri 9am-4pm.
Winanjjikari Music Centre
Charles darwin Training centre
08 8962 3282
Winanjjikari is a Warumungu term meaning “Singing for Belonging.” The centrewas established by Aboriginal men of the Barkly who were looking for a place to learn, write and perform music.
Read more….Their stories, both traditional & modern are told through the medium of song. Hear the contemporary beat of either reggae to country to rock with instruments from electric guitars, clapping sticks & boomerangs. Respect is foremost at Winanjjikari Music Centre so appropriate culturals protocols apply to all visitors. In conjuction with Barkly Regional Arts - Open Mon-Fri 9am-
Self-guided Historic Town Walk
Keeping to the heartbeat of the town centre take a walk where plaques unveil original 1930’s buildings and sites relevant to our humble beginnings. Collect a map from the Visitor Centre.
Anzac Hill Lookout
Anzac Hill is an outcrop of ironstone; typical of the area. Walk up the concrete path and steps to the top for a worthwhile town view. It was named as a War Memorial to the Australian New Zealand Army Corps who served with extreme valour during WWI.
Historic Catholic Church
08 8962 2021
The church was originally built in Pine Creek in 1911 and believed to be the design of Father Cross and T. O’Shea.
Read more…..The Church was brought to Tennant Creek in 1936 to service the rapidly growing mining community. The National Trust has this significant building listed on their National Register. It was once considered ‘The Longest Church in Australia.’ Enquire at the Visitor Centre to find out the details. The hall at the side is a typical ‘Sydney Williams’ prefabricated hut purchased from the military at the end of the Second World War. This historic church can be viewed any time during the day.
The Jurnkurrakur Mural
Corner Paterson & Windley Streets
Jurnkurrakur (waterhole) Dreaming was painted on the front wall of the CLC building as a Community Arts project about mythology & contemporary life.
Read more….The area surrounding the main waterhole designs is an elaborate representation of animals & images from Aboriginal culture; ancient & modern. Observe the plaques across the base of the mural, they provide the story.
Corner Paterson Street & Peko Road
Peko Park is used for public entertainment, such as free concerts and the Carols by Candlelight Service. Take a break, the park offers shaded seating, a public toilet, gas BBQ and a water fountain that was relocated from the northern end of Paterson Street in August 2004 to celebrate over 40 years of reticulated water in Tennant Creek Situated on the Peko/Paterson park corner the ‘Lions Club’ destination signpost provides a excellent photo opportunity.
Corner Paterson & Davidson Street
While visiting Tennant Creek Daryl Somers, Slim Dusty, John Farnham, James Reyne, Lisa Curry, Ted Egan, and other prominent Australians have left their handprints on the brick paved footpath.